Dr. Bililign Visits White House, Receives Award

President Barack Obama greets Dr. Solomon Bililign (left) and other recipients of the 2010 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring in the Oval Office, Dec. 12, 2011. (Official White House Photo by Pete Souza)

Tadias Magazine

By Tadias Staff

New York (TADIAS) — President Obama has honored nine individuals and eight organizations as recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. The mentors received their awards at a White House ceremony on Monday, December 12.

Administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring is awarded by the White House to individuals and organizations in recognition of the crucial role that mentoring plays in the academic and personal development of students studying science and engineering–particularly those who belong to groups that are underrepresented in these fields. By offering their expertise and encouragement, mentors help prepare the next generation of scientists and engineers while ensuring that tomorrow’s innovators reflect and benefit from the diverse talent of the United States.

Colleagues, administrators and students in their home institutions nominate candidates for the award. The mentoring can involve students at any grade level from elementary through graduate school. In addition to being honored at the White House, recipients receive awards of $25,000 from NSF to advance their mentoring efforts.

The mentors and organizations announced yesterday represent the winners for 2010 and 2011.

“Through their commitment to education and innovation, these individuals and organizations are playing a crucial role in the development of our 21st century workforce,” President Obama said when he first announced the awardees. “Our nation owes them a debt of gratitude for helping ensure that America remains the global leader in science and engineering for years to come.”

The individuals and organizations receiving the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring are:


Solomon Bililign, North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University, N.C.
Peggy Cebe, Tufts University, Mass.
Roy Clarke, University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Mich.
Amelito Enriquez, Cañada College, Calif.
Karen Panetta, Tufts University, Mass.
ACE Mentor Program of America, Conn., represented by Charles Thornton
Ocean Discovery Institute, Calif.
Women’s Health Science Program for High School Girls and Beyond, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Ill., represented by Teresa Woodruff


Winston Anderson, Howard University, Washington, D.C.
Juan E. Gilbert, Clemson University, S.C.
Shaik Jeelani, Tuskegee University, Ala.
Andrew Tsin, University of Texas at San Antonio, Texas
Camp Reach, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Mass. represented by Chrysanthe Demetry
Diversity Programs in Engineering, Cornell University, N.Y. , represented by Sara Hernández
The Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute, Arizona State University, Ariz., represented by Carlos Castillo-Chavez
The Stanford Medical Youth Science Program, Stanford University, Calif., represented by Marilyn Winkleby
University of California San Francisco Science & Health Education Partnership High School Intern Program, Calif., represented by Rebecca Smith

Source: NSF

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2011, its budget is about $6.9 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives over 45,000 competitive requests for funding, and makes over 11,500 new funding awards. NSF also awards over $400 million in professional and service contracts yearly.


Obama Honors Physicist Solomon Bililign With Presidential Award

Join the conversation on Twitter and Facebook.

1 Response to “Dr. Bililign Visits White House, Receives Award”

  1. 1 Obama Honors Physicist Solomon Bililign With Presidential Award at Tadias Magazine Pingback on Dec 16th, 2011 at 11:43 am
Comments are currently closed.


















Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.